login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★Memory[Happiness Mtg.]

★10-14-2015 Happiness Mtg.Topic-Memory★

• 5th Bmindful Happiness Meeting
  • This Meeting Is Going On All Day & Into Tomorrow Due To Time Zones & Busy Schedules
  • logo for meeting
    Today’s meeting is about how we can use our memory better.

Why this topic? Well, personally, I have a goal for which memory is a vital part. Memory, or more accurately, memorization, is a requirement to reach that goal. Here is my goal: I intend to put together some “sets”. I am a musician. I’ve played many times in front of audiences. It’s been a while, but, I’ve done it many times. I, however, have never done a solo set. I’ve done a song solo before, but, that isn’t anything like doing a whole show by myself. Most of the times when I have played I have had others on stage with me. Big difference. Let me say that again – BIG DIFFERENCE! I’ve got plenty of songs to draw from, but, memorizing all that stuff – especially the lyrics – is a real challenge. Lots of folks play “at” performing a song or two. If you are sitting around with some friends around a campfire no one is going to complain and will probably laugh if you forget a line or stumble with a chord or something. If you go to see James Taylor or some other professional, you won’t see stumbling, you will see a performance. You will see someone who KNOWS his material.

I am casually working on my set right now, but, I need/want to put more time into reaching my goal. I’ll share the things I am doing now and we can discuss memorization techniques that I and other can use for better success with memorization.