login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★Recording Affirmations: How much equipment needed?

Hi everyone, I’m new to this site, so bear with me. It seems like a whole lot of positivity, which is something I need desperately. It’s hard to know where to start.

I’ve decided I want to record some affirmations over some binaural music and use it for morning/evening meditations, studying, and sleep, to get a healthy boost of self-assurance and positivity in my life.

However, when I started learning about recording these affirmations, I quickly learned the microphone on my computer won’t cut it. Professional voice microphones seem to start at about $200 and get much more expensive from there, and apparently I need a preamp too? Although I have some limited experience mixing music and DJing, I’m not an sound expert by any means, nor do I wish to become one to complete this task.

I’m curious if anyone who is familiar with recording affirmations could make a recommendation on the bare minimum equipment needed to record something that isn’t unbearable with hissing/popping noises. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You don’t need an expensive mic or preamp. All you need is an inexpensive mic and audacity, which is free. Just record your affirmations and layer them over the music you want. Just adjust the level on the affirmations so that they are barely audible. Open the audiofile you want in audacity and then record a new track with the affirmations.

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.
— Gandalf, J.R.R. Tolkien
I’m Alright
Life Less Ordinary

In response to themadcookieman’s post:
I knew you’d know(: I was looking for all the great stuff you had posted on this(:

I AM
Peaceful:
Emotions, Sensations ,
& Feelings

Making Subliminals can be a lot of fun. I make my own cds and sell them toa friends’