login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★Total Fitness in 30 Minutes a Week

I have almost finished reading Total Fitness in 30 Minutes a Week and have been impressed with what I have read so far. I’m not any kind of fitness guru, but this seems like a really worthwhile read. I have been taking notes so I will post them when I have finished, but consider getting a copy of this book.

I’m gonna go ahead and post a little right now about pulse rate as a guide to your exercise. Here’s kinda what I gather from what I’ve read, but remember, I’m not a doctor, fitness guru, or nutritionist, so having said that…

Basically, your pulse tells you all kinds of wonderful stuff about changes in your body. In short, it’s kind of like the summary page of a detailed report. AND it’s reliable.

Generally, the lower the resting heart rate, the healthier you are. Resting heart rates higher than 80 beats a minute are suggestive of poor health and fitness, increased risk of coronary, heart disease and death in middle age. The mortality rate for men and women with pulse rates over 92 is four times greater than for those with pulse rates less than 67.

An accelerated pulse rate in itself isn’t dangerous. Nor does it indicate that there’s something necessarily wrong with you. All it means is that the body is working under a heavy load. A pulse rate above 120 borders on intensive exertion. If it takes very little physical work to produce this kind of heart rate, it means you’re “inefficient.” Your system is probably deconditioned due to lack of exercise.

Here’s a little chart showing approximate pulse rates that are reached at various intensities of continuous exercise.

Scale of Perceived Exertion Pulse Rate
1 – very, very light………………………Under 90
2 – very light…………………………… 90
3 – light……………………………….. 100
4 – fairly light…………………………. 110
5 – neither light nor heavy, (moderate)…….. 120