login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★★Are affirmations a form of suppression?

Hello to everyone! In case the title confuses someone, I want to say that I LOVE positive affirmations and I've been practicing them for 3 years already. The affirmations had an enormous impact on my life,I become the person I always wanted to be and even I am not perfect I am closer to everything I want in my life than I've ever been before. I actually love myself and enjoy in every single day being me.
Now, I have to say about myself than I am very good and honest person. So, at some point this is dangerous to me, this is one of that situations. So what is going on here? Recently I was looking on google(my biggest enemy) something about the positive thinking in general (can't remember right now what), and I accidentally saw some articles against positive thinking, affirmations, and etc and I read on several articles some opinions that actually 'affirmations are suppressing the negative thoughts'. From that moment to now, I can't practice my affirmations at peace. I am very disturbed, I can't be happy with the affirmations again. I am looking for days now for some informations on google that can explain this to me, but all I can find are even more stories from people that hate affirmations. I personally don't believe this. I think that the affirmations change our negative beliefs, but the things that I've read made me feel insecure enough.
Can someone help me here? Maybe someone knows more about this topic and can tell me that the affirmations aren't a suppression and why, so I can be in peace again. Thank you.

Hello again King Kong!laughing There are so many things I'd like to say here.... though I will add here & there...

just fully waking.. and I just find your thread inspirational in many ways!!! I Thank you again for creating this(: