login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★Discussion of Human Values

I’m hoping some of you will contribute thoughts about Human Values. This topic has been stirred up in my heart and mind and I would appreciate some honest discussion on this topic. It is important that each of us get a handle on our values and prioritize them. Many of us have conflicting values and aren’t even aware of it. We can be working against ourselves without even knowing. My understanding is that getting our personal values sorted can be very freeing and is something I want to work on, but it can be a fairly onerous task. I started looking up lists of human values and the lists are VERY long. I suspect they could be categorized a bit that would make the task easier, but I’m just beginning the process. Please share your thoughts.

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.
— Gandalf, J.R.R. Tolkien
I’m Alright
Life Less Ordinary

In response to themadcookieman’s post:
Value lists are great, MCM. Why don’t you post what you have and keep adding to them like you did with the positive adjectives?

I AM
Peaceful:
Emotions, Sensations ,
& Feelings

I feel the greatest value or trait we can pass on to out future generations (some of us in our generation also need to sort it out within themselves) is of respect for all other fellow beings and for all types of jobs. The presenr generation only seems to think of everything in terms of money. There is no value or respect for relations/age/humanity….We need to understand that we are beings from the same higher soul and need equal love n respect. There is no color/caste/status/position…. when it comes to meeting our final fate. We all leave behind evrything that is material, and take with us the lessons and good/bad karma accumulated.