login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★Share Your Brilliant Ideas!

Do any of you have an attic fan/whole house fan? I do, and in the spring and fall I use it instead of the air conditioner. You turn it on and it pulls in cool air and exhausts it though your attic. Well here’s my idea. I’m not an engineer, but I’ll bet that you could install some small fan blades above the attic fan. You could attach these little windmills to a generator and recoup some of the costs of running your electric attic fan. Do you see what I mean?

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.
— Gandalf, J.R.R. Tolkien
I’m Alright
Life Less Ordinary

Here are a couple of more ideas I had.

The U.S. healthcare system is in trouble and I don’t think we can afford nationalized healthcare. Just another huge beauratic fiasco waiting to happen and I certainly don’t have a complete answer. I know malpractice insurance has a lot to do with it that I think could use some reform, BUT I did have an idea this morning; why couldn’t the government pay for one or two free annual check-ups for every citizen? I can’t guess how many people out there simply don’t have the money to even pay for a check-up. Talk about a great preventative illness program! I can see a lot of promise in the idea. What do you guys think?

Okay, here is the other idea I had. A bmindful book exchange. Books can be expensive, but what if we had a group of folks that mailed books to each other? It would have to be some kind of honor system, but say I’m looking for something by a particular author or have a book that I really want to share, I send one to a member and get one from another. We keep it for a months and then pass it on? Maybe some of you could come up with a good way to make this work. It’s just a rough idea I had this morning. (I got both of those ideas while I was soaking in a nice bath, by the way.)