login to bmindful Sign up for your FREE bmindful account!

To get the most out of the bmindful forum, please sign up or log in!

★A Course In Miracles

has anyone worked their way through this please .On the TUT website there is a thread where you can join a lovely lady working through it starting september which i am considering joining .

love flowergirl

I have not…but I would like to!

I studied it for a few years. I am extremely compatible with what it teaches. Belonged to a group at a Disciples of Christ (denomination) Christian Church that studied it.

It strengthened my relationship to God and made me less vulnerable to the illusion of separateness.

Got any specific questions?

I would like to know where to start. What is the best way to really absorb the material?

Oh gosh. I don’t know!

I got the book and sampled the lessons. They seemed attractive but impenetrable. I knew there would be no rush to get through it. I went back to the preface and just dipped my toe in a little bit at a time.

I was fortunate to really like the people who were in the study group at my church. That’s why I bought the book. I just wanted to be in a class with them. They were the most open and relaxed people in the church. Hippies in conservative clothes.

Most of them had been studying the book for years and were comfortable with finding a balance between the book vs. Christianity and a balance between the book vs. the world we perceive. That balance is important or you’ll stray into some odd expectations (similar to people who believe affirmations prevent cancer so they never get a pap smear, etc.)

I listened and didn’t say much during study group. They spoke abstractly and I wasn’t sure what they were applying in the real world. I’m still not sure about them. We’ve drifted apart — everybody changes towns, it seems.